Daily Archives: November 26, 2012

Rhode Island Portrait Photographer: Janek Gwizdala sessions

Janek Gwizdala is one of the best bass players in the world. If you aren’t familiar with his music take a few moments and watch this video or this one

and go check out his website

I had the pleasure of photographing Janek this week. during the session I learned that he is obsessed with magic and card tricks. So we changed gears from my original thought which was to photograph him with his beloved instrument and made a portrait with his cards. I felt like this was the stand out shot from all the photos we took because it not only looks visually amazing with the cards flying through the air but also speaks to how I feel about improvisation and art in general. There is an element of Magic to beautiful art. When you watch Janek play his bass or any amazing artist create improvisational art there is an element of “wow that can’t be true?” that happens for me. I feel like we captured that element in this portrait. Also I have always said that photography is lying with images which lines up nicely with the idea of the card playing charlatan image we made here.

Janek Gwizdala portrait by Seth Jacobson

Here are the rest of the portraits we made. Janek’s beautiful wife Bethany jumped in at the end for a few photos too. Thanks Bethany and Janek 🙂